Forums/Armchair-GM

Only two options for PLD to MTL

Created by: HabsFan33
Team: 2020-21 Montreal Canadiens
Initial Creation Date: Jan. 22, 2021
Published: Jan. 22, 2021
Salary Cap Mode: Basic
Description
I know there's been a lot of different trade scenarios for PLD in the last few weeks, some good and some absolutely awful, for both Habs and CBJ perspective. As a Montreal fan, there are only two options in which I would trade for Dubois and the package stays pretty much the same except one player. The real question for Habs is when do you make the trade. If you trade in-season because MB thinks Dubois will be gone prior to off season and feels pressure from Jarmo then KK is the center being traded to CBJ. Option two (and more favorable for Habs imo) is the Habs are out of payoff contention by trade deadline, they know they can't resign Danault or they make the trade prior to expansion draft, then Danault becomes the center going to Columbus. Of course, any trade involving Danault would be contingent on Jarmo having an extension in place for Danault.

If I'm MB, these are the only trade options (or scenarios) I entertain to get Dubois. If CBJ wants more or different players (i.e. Suzuki) then I pass if I'm the Habs.